ORSI

NEWSLETTER

OPERATIONAL RESEARCH SOCIETY OF INDIA

(For Circulation to Members Only)

Volume 1| Issue 1|April 2021



Prof. Jai Kishore Sharma President

President's Message

Newsletters are effective tools as these portrays a broader, valuable and useful information for better understanding and knowledge about any particular products and services to all stakeholders as well as prospective group of people who wants to be part of the organization after knowing about it.

Newsletter is a cost-effective medium to make any organization stand out in the crowd for building relationships and maintaining regular contact with group of people.

I hope that this newsletter will not only serve as medium for maintaining strong fraternity with existing members but will also attract attention of professional, academicians and students in the field of operational research and allied areas.

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR ORSI AWARDS - 2021

Prof. P.C. Mahalanobis Award

In the honour of Prof. P. C. Mahalanobis, the founder President of ORSI, ORSI invites nominations from members for three distinguished educators and professionals in India in (a) Mathematics, Statistics & other Science Disciplines, (b) Engineering and (c) Management.

Prof. M. C. Puri Memorial Award

ORSI invites nominations for Prof. M. C. Puri Memorial Award from members of ORSI with most of their research work done in India with significant impact and promoting Operational Research in the country.

Fellowship Award for 2019, 2020 and 2021

Nominations for ORSI Fellowship Award for 2021 are invited from senior members of the Society having outstanding contributions towards the promotion and development of Operational Research. Nominations already received for 2019 and 2020 shall be duly considered for the respective year. They need not to apply again.

For additional details, visit our website <u>www.orsihq.org</u> or contact the Executive Secretary (Land Line: 033 24644213/ Mobile +919051881481).

54th Annual Convention

Indore Chapter of ORSI will organize 54th Annual Convention with International Conference on **Applications of Operational Research in Business and Industries** during 17-19 December 2021. Last date of submission of abstracts of the papers to <u>drcsharma3@gmail.com</u> is **30 August 2021**. For further details, please visit our website <u>www.orsihq.org</u>

Names and Designations of Council Members		
Names of Council Members	Designation	Address
Prof. Jai Kishore Sharma President Mail ID: jks.kaushik@gmail.com	President	Amity School of Business 125, Noida 201303 (UP)
Prof. M. Mathirajan Vice-President Mail ID: iiscmathi@gmail.com	Vice-President	Department of Management Studies Indian Institute of Science Bengaluru 560012
Dr. Avanish Kumar Vice-President Mail ID: dravanishkumar@gmail.com	Vice-President	Department of Mathematical Science and Computer Applications, Bundelkhand University, Jhansi (UP) 284128
Dr. Bijan Sarkar Honorary Secretary Mail ID: bijan.sarkar@jadavpuruniversity.in	Honorary Secretary	Department of Production Engineering Jadavpur University Kolkata 700032
Prof. R. N. Mukherjee Treasurer Mail ID: rnm_bu_math@yahoo.co.in	Treasurer	82, Jatin Das Road Kolkata 700029
Dr. Chandra K. Jaggi Council Member Mail ID: ckjaggi@gmail.com	Council Member	Department of Operational Research Faculty of Mathematical Sciences University of Delhi, Delhi 110007
Dr. S. Dharmaraja Council Member Mail ID: dharmar@maths.iitd.ac.in	Council Member	Department of Mathematics Indian Institute of Technology Delhi Hauz Khas, New Delhi 110016
Dr. PL. K. Palaniappan Council Member Mail ID: pazhantce@gmail.com	Council Member	Department of Mechanical Engineering Thiagarajar College of Engineering Madurai 625015 (Tamil Nadu)
Dr. Samarjit Kar Council Member Mail ID: dr.samarjitkar@gmail.com	Council Member	Department of Mathematics National Institute of Technology Durgapur 713209, W.B.
Dr. Bibhas Chandra Giri Council Member Mail ID: bibhas pnu@yahoo.com	Council Member	Department of Mathematics Jadavpur University Kolkata 700032, W.B.
Prof. Arnab Kumar Laha Council Member Mail ID: arnab@iima.ac.in	Council Member	Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad 380015 (Gujarat)
Dr. Ashis Kumar Chakraborty Council Member Mail ID: akchakraborty123@rediffmail.com	Council Member	SQC and Operations Research Division Indian Statistical Institute B. T. Road, Kolkata 700108, W.B.
Dr. Swapan K. Bose Chowdhury Council Member Mail ID: skbc002@gmail.com	Council Member	23A/215, Diamond Harbour Road Block J, New Alipore Kolkata 700053
Dr. Pankaj Dutta Council Member Mail ID: pdutta@iitb.ac.in	Council Member	School of Management Indian Institute of Technology Powai, Mumbai 400076
Dr. Adarsh Mangal Council Member Mail ID: dradarshmangal1@gmail.com	Council Member	Department of Mathematics Engineering College, Ajmer Badliya Circle, Ajmer 305025
Dr. Arvind Kumar Gupta (Ex-Officio Member) Mail ID: arvindgupta54@gmail.com	Executive Secretary ORSI	39, Mahanirvan Road Kolkata 700029

ORSI members are requested to send the information to ORSI headquarters at email id: orsihq39@yahoo.in to be shared in a forthcoming issue of ORSI Newsletter.

Edited by S Dharmaraja and Arnab Kumar Laha on behalf of ORSI, and published by the Executive Secretary, Operational Research Society of India, 39 Mahanirvan Road, Kolkata 700029, India (Land Line: 033 24644213/Mobile +919051881481)